Hashcat is a popular password-cracking tool that is used by many cybersecurity professionals to test the security of various systems. The tool can be used to crack passwords that are encrypted with various hashing algorithms. In this guide, we will walk you through the steps required to install Hashcat 6.2.5 on Ubuntu 18.

Step 1: Update Ubuntu

The first step in installing Hashcat on Ubuntu is to ensure that the system is up to date. This can be done by running the following command in the terminal:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade

This will update the package lists and install any available updates.

Step 2: Install Dependencies

Next, we need to install the dependencies required by Hashcat. These dependencies include OpenCL and the development headers for various libraries. We can install these dependencies using the following command:

sudo apt-get install ocl-icd-libopencl1 opencl-headers ocl-icd-dev build-essential

Step 3: Download Hashcat

Now that the dependencies have been installed, we can download the Hashcat package from the official website. To do this, open a web browser and navigate to the following URL:


From there, click on the “Download” link at the top of the page and select the appropriate version of Hashcat for your system. In this case, we will be downloading version 6.2.5. Once the download is complete, extract the contents of the archive to a directory of your choice.

Step 4: Compile Hashcat

After downloading and extracting the Hashcat package, we need to compile it. To do this, open a terminal window and navigate to the directory where the Hashcat package was extracted. From there, run the following command:


This will compile Hashcat and create the necessary binaries.

Step 5: Test Hashcat

Once Hashcat has been compiled, we can test it to ensure that it is working correctly. To do this, we will run a simple test by cracking a sample password hash. The hash we will be cracking is an SHA-256 hash with a password of “password”. To crack the hash, run the following command:

code./hashcat -m 1400 test.hash /usr/share/wordlists/rockyou.txt

This command tells Hashcat to use the SHA-256 hash mode (-m 1400), crack the hash stored in the “test.hash” file, and use the rockyou wordlist located in the “/usr/share/wordlists” directory. If Hashcat is working correctly, it should successfully crack the hash and display the password “password”.

Step 6: Configure Hashcat

Once Hashcat has been installed and tested, you may want to configure it to better suit your needs. This can be done by editing the “hashcat.hcstat2” file located in the Hashcat directory. This file contains various settings that can be used to optimize Hashcat’s performance and customize its behavior.

Some of the settings that can be customized include the workload profile, the kernel optimizations, and the output format. Refer to the Hashcat documentation for more information on how to customize these settings.

In conclusion, installing Hashcat on Ubuntu 18 is a relatively straightforward process that involves installing the necessary dependencies, downloading the Hashcat package, compiling it, and testing it to ensure that it is working correctly. Once installed, Hashcat can be configured to better suit your needs by editing the “hashcat.hcstat2” file. By using this powerful password-cracking tool, you can test the security of various systems and ensure that they are properly secured against unauthorized access.

By Imgpic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *